Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Classlist

In each Brightspace course, there are a number of participants, which can be found under "Classlist". If a participant is missing, this person can subsequently be added to the course in a number of different roles. A person can also be removed from a course.

Below you will find guides for:

  1. Add a person and assign a role
  2. Remove a person
  3. Download list of students

1. Add a person and assign a role

This guide shows how a person is added and assigned a role in a Brightspace course.

Problems viewing the full guide? Try refreshing the page. If it does not work Press "View It" and select "Watch It" and switch back again.

Below is a list of all the roles you may see in a Classlist in Brightspace. Not all of them can be assigned to someone you want to add to your course:

RoleExplanation  Able to  
Course instructor
Assigned automatically to an instructor who will teach the course.

- Create, edit and delete files and activities.

- Communicate with students

- Has access to all sections

- Register and unregister other users (teachers / students)

- Export files and activities from the course to another course

InstructorCan do the same as a Course instructor - assigned manually by either another instructor or by the study administration and not automatically - see more in the guide.- See Course instructor  

Visiting instructor

Can do the same as a Course instructor - assigned manually by either another instructor or by the study administration and not automatically - see more in the guide. - See Course instructor  
Teaching Assistant Can do the same as a Course instructor - assigned manually by either another instructor or by the study administration and not automatically - see more in the guide. - See Course instructor  
Student - ManualThe role can be assigned to students who have not been created automatically.

- Participate in activities

- See all visible files

- Access and download files

Guest - Read OnlyThe role is assigned to a person who should only be able to look into a course, but can not interact with the content or other people in the course, but can import content from the course to another course. In all courses migrated from Blackboard, all persons have this role.

- Look into the course

- Export files and activities from the course to another course

2. Remove a person

This guide shows how to remove a person from a Brightspace course.

Problems viewing the full guide? Try refreshing the page. If it does not work Press "View It" and select "Watch It" and switch back again.

3. Download list of students

This guide shows how to download a list of studentsnames enrolled in your course as a Excel or CSV file.

Problems viewing the full guide? Try refreshing the page. If it does not work Press "View It" and select "Watch It" and switch back again.